It’s a Shame These Books Have Less Than 20,000 Ratings on Goodreads

Posted July 5, 2016 by Emz Chang in Meme, Other / 11 Comments

top-ten-books-less-than-20000-ratings

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish.

I have finally decided to give this meme a try. The concept sounds fun but I am really bad at picking things so we’ll see how this goes.

Okay, so in no particular order. Just kidding, I lied. Sorted from books with the least ratings to the ones with the most, here are my top ten books (plus a bonus) I enjoyed that have under 20,000 ratings on Goodreads.

20000-ratings-1-5

1. Through the Dark by Alexandra Bracken (1,363 ratings at the moment)
Okay, so there might be some reasonable explanations for the lack of ratings on this awesome book. First of all, it was only published in the fall of last year and does not currently have a paperback edition. Second of all, it’s a bind up of The Darkest Minds novellas that include In Time and Sparks Rise, which were already published separately as ebooks. The bind up includes a Beyond the Night, a brand new novella, but I’m willing to bet my whole college tuition that the separate novellas have more ratings because more people have read them that way.

2. The Unfinished Life of Addison Stone by Adele Griffin (1,434 ratings atm)
I really loved reading this book. As I mentioned in my review, I thought it was really unique – the story was told in a special way and the fact that it included multimedia that helped bring the story to life. I actually thought that this fiction book was nonfiction when I first read it. That is how well woven the story is.

3. Grasping at Eternity by Karen Amanda Hooper (1,702 ratings atm)
This is one of those indie books that you just want to shove in everyone’s face. It definitely is underappreciated and I have enjoyed it every single time I’ve reread it.

4. Being Sloane Jacobs by Lauren Morrill (3,262 ratings atm)
This is the book I reach for every winter since I’ve first read it in 2014. It’s just a very feel-good book, a cute fluffy read that keeps you amused and makes you feel warm inside. Especially if you love The Parent Trap, hockey, and/or figure skating.

5. Breaking the Rules by Katie McGarry (3,586 ratings atm)
Unfortunately, this book is only really available as an ebook in the States unless you order from somewhere like the Book Depository. And although a paperback edition exists, let me tell you, it is not the prettiest thing. This problem means not many libraries and bookstores have it, which means generally you have to buy it to read it. And that usually means fewer people read it, because like I said in my review, Breaking the Rules is a really good add-on to Pushing the Limits and a must read for fans of Echo and Noah.

20000-ratings-6-10

6. The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes (3,996 ratings)
This one really makes me scratch my head. I loved reading this book. It’s one of my favorite ones that was published last year. And yet, none of my non-blogging friends have ever heard of it. *Sigh* It’s a really well written political thriller. I’ll definitely recommend it to fans of Ally Carter’s Gallagher Girls.

7. Whatever Life Throws at You by Julie Cross (4,583 ratings)
It’s full of humor, romance, and well developed characters with tons of chemistry. What more could you ask for?

8. I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrois (8,430 ratings)
I feel like the whole bookish blogosphere was raving about this book when it first came out. Which is why I’m so surprised that this book made this list. It’s a really good book to read if you’re a fan of Sarah Dessen and contemporary novels.

9. The Last Time We Say Goodbye by Cynthia Hand (9,082 ratings)
This book made me cry when I read it, and it’s making me cry again right now because it doesn’t have nearly enough ratings (in my opinion). It’s a really beautiful, tragic, emotional book with a really well written main character that’s easy to connect to (at least for me). READ it!

10. Double Crossed by Ally Carter (10,972 ratings)
And finally the last book on the list (is it?), this free crossover novella deserves more reads and ratings. It was a really good story that was a perfect mesh of the Gallagher Girls and Heist Society really well.

20000-ratings-bonus

Bonus: This Shattered World and Their Fractured Light by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner (9,382 and 4,262 ratings respectively)
If you need anything to prove that people often don’t follow up with reading the next books in a series, this is it. These Broken Stars, the first book in the series, has over 40,000 ratings on Goodreads and the other two books in the trilogy both have less than 10,000. What does that say about the dedication of readers and their commitment to finishing series? There was only a year gap between books, which is normal for series. AND These Broken Stars averages 3.94 stars so it’s not like it’s a book no one liked. WHY? A lot of people missed out on finished a good series.

Links

I’ve reviewed pretty much every book I included on this list (I’m missing two novellas from Through the Dark and Being Sloane Jacobs) so I started to embed links to them in my list. Of course, I got lazy halfway through so feel free to look them up in my review archive if you want.

Also, in case you want to look up more info on the books I mentioned (or check my ratings count), I created a Goodreads shelf with all of these books instead of linking them all up individually (I’m really lazy, if you couldn’t already tell). You can find it here.

That’s all for me.
What about you?
What are some books you loved but have under 20,000 ratings on Goodreads?

Emz Chang

Tags: ,


Leave a Reply

Want to include a link to one of your blog posts below your comment? Enter your URL in the website field, then click the button below to get started. :)

11 responses to “It’s a Shame These Books Have Less Than 20,000 Ratings on Goodreads

  1. I ALMOST put The Unfinished Life of Addison Stone on my list. It was a close call, but I have a different Adele Griffin book on there, so I left it off. I totally loved the uniqueness of the book. I’ve never heard of a non-fiction fiction before that one 🙂

  2. Double Crossed and The Fixer were both spot-on perfect for me. They were exactly what I was looking for when I was reading them. I wanted to love The Last Time We Say Goodbye a lot, but in the end it just didn’t work for me. Oooh, and it really is a shame Being Sloane Jacobs is on this list. It’s one of my favorite fluffy contemporaries, and I’m long past overdue for a reread. Thanks for the reminder!

    #commenting365